week 1/2 of our home learning journey

I really cannot believe that the summer is over and a new season of more formal learning is back underway in our home. We took an extended summer break in order to keep my sanity while Mark finished up his PhD, we navigated lots of uncertainty over what was next. Turns out what was next is the gift to draw breathe in the same home, same community for a few more months.

So we have started up a new term and already my nice neat little schedule is out the door which once again and with no surprise is causing me angst. I saw the disruption coming, I had a year of learning this lesson last year and walked myself straight back into it in the first week of this new year. And with it my frustrations and short temper, but we are learning together to nip it in the bud sooner, to stop, to pay attention to what is really going on.

This year we begin with Bob reading confidently, so much so that while Mark is out tonight he offered to read Zog bedtime stories while I settled Kanga which marks a shift from placing them both infront of the screen for half an hour while I settled her down.

I have lots milling around in my head about this year, this week just done, but I am also exhausted after a first week back into routine and solo parenting tonight and we are not in a great place with sleep and little folk at the moment. Zog is navigating some serious developmental jumps right now which have been so encouraging but are draining on him and he has reverted to needing night time contact. Which I understand and get but in the morning when I need to roll out of bed and get moving but cannot because he has attached himself to me and even more than moving I need him to sleep so my planned slow entry into the days have become scrambled rushes and I am already contact time out before the day has started.

Our mornings are filled with the basics of maths and writing, reading, grammar and spelling with the afternoons for alternating history/science and art/music. Thursday afternoons are going to see us at the park for nature walks once more, this time following a new book and if I could work out how to link it I would – will try and do so next week. Fridays are for history and science projects so today along with a friend we made roman standards and the start of our solar system posters. We will add a planet a week as we study them.

Overall it has been a good week, there have been bumps mainly my own creating which we have had to navigate. It also takes a while for the whole family to settle into new patterns and we are working out which evenings we are in and out. We are involved in more events this season through church, Alpha and a study for women as well as home group and the hopes of starting up a mums with young children bible study fortnightly during the day.

DSCN3170 DSCN3164 DSCN3161 DSCN3144 DSCN3150 DSCN3121 DSCN3118

One comment on “week 1/2 of our home learning journey

  1. Tanya Marlow says:

    I love your solar system posters!

Leave a Reply

