reflections on our first week of learning

My hope is to take time each weekend to reflect and write about the week of learning; to stop and consider moments that might otherwise get missed. To provide myself with a map of where we have walked, climbed, sat and rest, splashed in streams of unfettered joy or much needed grace and mercy. To remind myself of the wonder of all that God has placed within our family, to see our children anew. And I write publicly because I believe it takes a village to raise a child and many of the villagers in our family’s life are scattered across the four corners of the world and I seek their wisdom and insight and voice in this journey, so please speak up our children need your voices too.

I love order, I love lists, I love new folders and pencils and sheets of paper waiting for all that creative potential. I crave plans, established consistent routines. Grace is unatural to me, set ways is the air I breathe. This might be one reason we are on this path; yes I can give a number of reasons why we have chosen to home educate our children; but they are not the only ones on the path and so along with them I am learning, being stretched, having my eyes opened and at the end of the week I think I am willing to say that is a good thing.

We have not reached the place my timetable had us by Friday, the laundry pile had become not just a mountain but an entire moutnain range. Though to be fair I suspect a small person who loves ‘hanging up clothes’ thanks to a Maisy mouse episode may have something to do with the number of clothes that keep finding themselves in the laundry basket. My menu plan has not run smoothly from one night to the next due to the fact that some days seemed to miss out entire nights of sleep and so freezer meals were essential. We have navigated the tail end of the two younger ones with colds and teething only for the eldest to go down with a cold and unless you have seen Bob with a cold this is no small matter. For Bob a cold means major sinus issues (too young for any medication), eyes that will only half open and the heaviest congestion I have come across. As he put it himself this morning when asked how he was doing his response was ‘I feel like a melting iceberg’.

But saying all of that we have covered maths, history, writing, spelling, grammar, reading. And we had a fantastic day with our home ed families together day on Tuesday, enjoying cave painting, music with lots of animal songs and a great time in the park. Taking Kanga in the sling and leaving the stroller at home and also wearing my new welIMAG0281homeschool pitville park sept 2014lingtons freed me up to wander off the beaten path and paddle in the stream. I was free to enjoy myself and have fun with our boys. It was a moment of grace that I was not anticpating but it meant I enjoyed an afternoon of pure small boy delight and see the park through their eyes. And Kanga was far happier too. I have learnt to teach subjects standing up, curled up on the sofa, to do jigsaws with my hands while teaching another subject in order to keep two boys going. I have learnt to let Bob take his worksheets to his new (to him) old fashioned school desk to do independent work and learn how to use his time. I am learning to get my head around all sorts of Egyptian names as we study Ancient Egypt. That in particular has been humbling to me as I long to see the light come on for Bob and his reading and there I am with all my dyslexic ways of seeing the world of print wrestle with names that make no sense to my understanding of sounds and want to just skip over them but cannot as I am reading aloud.

Humility has been my word for this week as I see Bob’s wrestle with flexibility when I suggest doing something differently or trying something new because i can see that that might help him, knowing full well that such a suggestion made to me would be met with absolute resilance with all of my inner most being. I have been reminded that the blessing of home education means you can adapt and tailor lessons to the individual child even when it means letting go of the plan I had made for DSCN1705how the lesson would be best learnt. I have rejoiced when Bob embraced the cave painting project for normally he is a boy who is hesitant with colour and paper and tends to do monotone minute pictures in one corner of the page but with this he filled the entire sheet.

I have been humbled by the deep sense of justice and injustice Bob sees in the world and how quick he is to spot it and that God has called us to parent him in that path. He keenly feels injustices beyond him, as well as his own, and that challenges me because while I can see injustices I only feel my own. He reacts deeply and intensely and I need to take a deep breath and consider when he is frustrated where the injustice he feels lies, and sadly too many times it is my own short fuse or ability to change the boundaries on them over often small inconsequential things but things that matter all the same.

It has not been the week my timetable and planner had but it has been a good week for which I am very thankful for and one day that timetable and planner will take their rightful place in my life as a means of grace rather than a rule to live by.

 

(group photo taken by Bethan)

Leave a Reply

