thought for the day

1 Sam 5 1-8

After the Philistines had captured the ark of God, they took it from Ebenezer to Ashdod. They tehy carried the ark into Dagon’s temple and set it beside Dagon. When the people of Ashdod rose early the next day, there was Dagon, fallen on his face before the ark of God…..The ark of the god of Israel must not stay here with us… What shall we do with the ark of the god of Israel?

How often have my idols lain broken before God and yet I have chosen to try and piece them back and carry on? I may not have gone as far as saying that the god of Israel must not stay here with me but I wany my idols restored.
Lord help me remember there is no other God, but you, the God of Israel, Abraham and Isaac. The One who gave us life, who gave us Christ, who has given us the Holy Spirit. Let my idols be laid bare, broken before you and may You be the One I cling to rather than reject.

Leave a Reply

