thought for the day

John 17:20-24 and prayer from Belgic Confessions.

I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one – I in them and you in me – so that they me be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

May your church be one as you are One, God in three persons, and may that unity catch the attention of a broken world.

I know that the church is full of broken sinful people, and so we cannot expect it to be perfect but reading these words I wonder if we dwell too much on the brokeness and forget that in Christ He has given us His glory for the very reason that we may be one and that others may notice that. That does not sound like a glory and a unity for life after now but for right now. So while we may be broken there should also be a glory that unites the brokeness. But sadly what has got the world’s attention more often than not, what makes the headlines is the broken sinful mirror the church is of the world, not of God’s love.

Forgive us Lord and help us today whereever we may be to remember and to seek out the glory already given to us that we may be united as You are.

Leave a Reply

