thought for the day

John 10:14-18

No one takes it (my life) from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down.

To simply read at first glance for the first time it can seem like the soliders had the upper hand. That the Jewish leaders were directing operations to their liking.  But in the dark shadows of the garden God was at work. Jesus went with them out of choice. He was not forced. He did not need to be dragged or lead. He lay His life down Himself.

When it seems dark, when it feels like others are leading, when it seems that God is not there, stop for a moment and remember that even in the darkness that night in the garden God was at work. That while God may seem to have abandoned all to the hands of the enemies He is in it for His glory and His glory includes His people being restored to Him not handed over to the enemy.

These words remind me of 1 Cor 13:12

For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, then I shall know fully, as I have been known fully.

 

Leave a Reply

