thought for the day

Matthew 6 – treasure in heaven

Where is my heart set, where do I let my eyes rest their gaze? As I think of the things that erk me, or get me wound up and angry I realise my heart is set on temporary things. On things that 3 year olds and 1 year olds can upset, can break, do as I would not want done. And I get erked and angry and they pay the price. What a difference our days would look like if my heart was fixed on things above, on what is pure and right. My response to passing everyday upsets would change if my eyes could rest on that which God has laid out for me.  And I could see the creations my 3 and 1 year olds have made for me in love, delight and innocence. And when discipline is required my heart would be stilled rather than the volcano it can be. Lord change my lenses so my eyes rest on you and not the chaos that comes with little ones this day.

Leave a Reply

